PMView.com

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> V3.70: Non-intuitive Error Message During Install
asavage
post Jan 20 2013, 01:02 AM
Post #1


Forum Member


Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 6-August 00
From: Duvall, Washington USA
Member No.: 28



I did eventually figure it out, but it may not be obvious for all.

During install, I saw this:





I forgot that I had an instance of PMV already open.

If your installer can be customized in this way, you might want to check that PMV isn't already running, prior to this point.


--------------------
Regards, Duvall, WA
Al S. http://asavage.dyndns.org
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Feb 7 2013, 11:01 AM
Post #2


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



Good suggestion. I have added this check to the installer. Next verison will have it.


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asavage
post Mar 27 2013, 03:58 PM
Post #3


Forum Member


Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 6-August 00
From: Duvall, Washington USA
Member No.: 28



I can confirm that the new code works: during Setup, an informative error message is displayed if an instance of PMV is running. Nicely done, Thanks!


--------------------
Regards, Duvall, WA
Al S. http://asavage.dyndns.org
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd May 2018 - 05:25 AM