PMView.com

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Set Resolution And Jpg Format?, Does JPG support Resolution Setting?
Guest_Guest_Rshawgo_*_*
post Dec 5 2005, 03:11 PM
Post #1





Guests






Using PMView 3.22 for Windows, does a JPG file support changing the resolution from somethign other than 72 DPI?
I successfully did it using TIFF format, but not JPEG.

Thank you.

Ryan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Dec 5 2005, 08:59 PM
Post #2


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 664
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



Yes, JPG suppots changing the resolution. I just tried it here, and it works fine.
Maybe you accidentally forgot to save the file after changing the resolution?

Please try it again and let me know if you still see a problem.

Thanks,


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rshawgo
post Dec 8 2005, 02:31 PM
Post #3


Forum Member


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 28-January 04
From: Cambridge
Member No.: 173



QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 5 2005, 09:59 PM)
Yes, JPG suppots changing the resolution. I just tried it here, and it works fine.
Maybe you accidentally forgot to save the file after changing the resolution?

Please try it again and let me know if you still see a problem.

Thanks,
*


I have found that if I open an image, Transform -> Resolution and set it to 150, then save the image and close, when I open again, and click Transform -> Resolution its listing 72 dpi again. Am I misunderstanding the Transform Resolution screen and it defaults always to 72 dpi regardless what the images currently is? How can one find out the resolution of an image, there used to be a Show -> image info option which I am no longer seeing.

Thank you

Ryan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Dec 9 2005, 09:20 AM
Post #4


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 664
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



Ryan,

File->Info... (Ctrl+I) will show you the actual resolution

I think I know what's wrong: Your file has an EXIF resolution that takes precedence when PMView reads the file. That's why the JPEG resolution figure "disappears"

Do File->Save as, click Options, uncheck "Save EXIF Information", and click "Save". That should do the trick!

Arguably this is a bug in v3.22. I'll make sure that v3.23 updates the EXIF data too when the resolution is changed.

Thanks,


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th November 2018 - 08:50 PM