PMView.com

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Printer settings saved in PMView - Printer settings saved in PMView
Guest_Paul Smedley_*
post Dec 12 2003, 06:30 PM
Post #1





Guests






Hi,
PMView Pro is fantastic - does everything I need and more, however, it has one very annoying bug/feature.

If I print something say 30 times, PMView remembers that the last print was 30 copies, and next time I print, I often forget to change the number of copies back to 1 then end up having to cancel the print job.

Is it possible to change it so that the number of copies printed is NOT saved?

Thanks,

Paul
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Dec 13 2003, 01:34 PM
Post #2


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



The printer driver stores this setting in the Dynamic Job Properties (DJP) supported by PMView. You might want to check your printer driver for an option for resetting this to 1 copy.

Thanks,


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psmedley
post Jan 2 2004, 01:07 AM
Post #3


Forum Member


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 2-January 04
From: Adelaide, Australia
Member No.: 171



Hi Peter,
I don't see anything about Dynamic Job Properties with any of the 3 sets of printer drivers that I use. HP Laserjet 4, Laserjet Postscript or Canon S400.

Why would anyone want to save the number of page copies anyway? I would much prefer PMView to always default to 1 copy.

Cheers,

Paul.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Jan 2 2004, 09:24 AM
Post #4


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



Any "modern" driver written for Warp4 supports DJP.

People who always want to print 2 copes (one for working on and one for their archive) would probably be very frustrated if they needed to change the setting to 2 copies every time.

You could also ask the question "why would anyone want PMView to remember the last printer used". I bet there are people that would want PMView to reset to the "default" printer every time. However, I doubt these people are in majority...

PMView remembers the values last used, since most users are likely to use the same settings the next time something is printed.

Of course I could add an option for always resetting the number of copies to "1". Please mail me at peter@pmview.com if you would like me to add such an option. Again, this brings up the question if there needs to be an option for always resetting to the default printer as well...

Thanks,




Edited By Peter on 1073073747


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Jan 2 2004, 03:10 PM
Post #5


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



Hmmm... I will consider adding an option "Save settings" to the menu that you get if you right click on the "Setup..." pushbutton. When checked (default), PMView would work like now and save any changes. When not checked, PMView would not save anything. (I.e. changes to # of copies, selected printer, margins, gamma, etc. would not be saved when the dialog is closed).

I bet this would take care of any issues...

Thanks,


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psmedley
post Sep 21 2004, 02:15 AM
Post #6


Forum Member


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 2-January 04
From: Adelaide, Australia
Member No.: 171



Hi Peter - was there ever any progress on this? I just got bitten by this "feature" smile.gif yesterday after printing some 6x4 photos on A5 sized paper - then my wife printed 10 copies of something she'd scanned and got nice little A5 sized copies of them smile.gif

Cheers,

Paul.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Sep 24 2004, 10:24 AM
Post #7


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



Yes, in v3.10 you can right-click on the "Setup..." button and check the hidden option "Default to one copy". This will make PMView reset the number of copies to "1" every time the dialog is opened.


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psmedley
post Sep 26 2004, 04:42 PM
Post #8


Forum Member


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 2-January 04
From: Adelaide, Australia
Member No.: 171



EXCELLENT smile.gif Can it default printer quality settings too? The other thing I find after printing photos to photo paper is that the next job also remembers that the paper is set to glossy and the quality level to Advanced Photo..

PS any ETA on v3.10?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Sep 30 2004, 09:58 AM
Post #9


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



No. You should have asked for that right away. Now it is too late. The option is called "Default to one copy". That will have to suffice.

For everyday situations like this, you could create multiple printer objects like "HP Paintjet - Glossy paper" and "HP Paintjet - Normal paper".


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th May 2018 - 08:55 AM