PMView.com

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Filling in the voids
Larry Bristol
post Jun 13 2000, 07:53 AM
Post #1


Forum Member


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 29-March 00
From: Sugar Land, TX, USA
Member No.: 8



I often find myself wanting to expand the size of an image (either horizontally or vertically) without otherwise affecting the image.

For example, I might have an image at 400x500 pixels that I need to make square (say 500x500). Cropping the image to 400x400 and then expanding it is not an option, and neither is making a non-proportional expansion of the image to 500x500; both of these would have a significant impact on the original image.

My work-around solution is to expand the size of the display window, open another instance of PMView so that I can "Capture" the image in the first instance, fill in the black background with the desired background color, and finally crop the result back down to 500x500.

This procedure seems like a kludge. Unless there is an obvious way to do this already (that I have overlooked), I would like to see an option added to change the size of an image by adding pixels, filled in with a default background; the opposite of cropping, if you will.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Jun 13 2000, 10:30 AM
Post #2


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 662
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



Hi Larry,

Try this:
1. Load the image
2. Edit->Copy
3. File->New->Image 500x500
(Color->RGB Balance to get the desired background color)
4. Edit->Paste->As Selection.

Best regards,

------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.

[This message has been edited by Peter (edited June 13, 2000).]


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Larry Bristol
post Jun 15 2000, 07:23 AM
Post #3


Forum Member


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 29-March 00
From: Sugar Land, TX, USA
Member No.: 8



That way is certainly a lot easier than what I was doing - thanks!

In fact, it seems to be about as easy as my suggestion. And since it requires no additional coding...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th August 2018 - 07:20 PM