PMView.com

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> V3.24: Foc Convert And Current Dir
Guest_Al Savage_*
post Mar 22 2006, 12:05 AM
Post #1





Guests






QUOTE
Conversion Scripts: When using a relative path in a conversion script, the path is resolved with reference to the current directory of the command line. While this works as expected when running PMView scripts from the command line, the behavior may seem odd and confusing to users launching the script directly from the main menu or from the FOC popup menu. This version changes the behavior so that relative paths are resolved relative to the FOC directory. When running scripts from the command line, the behavior remains unchanged.


I just had an opportunity to try to use this. In the screenshot below of an error dialog that popped in the FOC, the dir

K:\ftp\Biodiesel

does exist, and is the what the FOC is showing. I selected five files, RMB and selected Convert, and for the Output Directory I typed "work" by itself (w/o quotes).

(Earlier, I'd tried ".\work" which failed oddly, you may want to test for yourself. It should resolve but doesn't, and PMV then shows the faulty path as
K:\ftp\Biodiesel\.\work\etc
which clearly isn't what is intended.)

Screenshot:
ftp://asavage.dyndns.org/hosting/PMView/PMV2000_25.png

Freespace on K: is 27GiB, and it's not write-protected.

Regards,
Al S.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Al Savage_*
post Mar 22 2006, 11:32 PM
Post #2





Guests






Also, after a failed convert, and after I'd cleared any dialogue, the affected FOC thumbnails have remained as grey "Converting" blocks. They didn't revert to thumbnails of the images.

Regards,
Al S.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Mar 30 2006, 07:51 PM
Post #3


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



Al,

Does the "work" directory exist? PMView scripts WILL NOT CREATE directories. The target directory has to exist.

FWIW, the following directories are all identical:

d:\test\work
d:\test\.\work
d:\test\work\.
d:\test\.\.\.\.\.\.\work
d:\test\..\test\..\test\..\test\.\.\.\..\test\.\.\work\.\.\.\.

All refer to \test\work on the d: drive.

Thanks,


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asavage
post Apr 2 2006, 11:41 AM
Post #4


Forum Member


Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 6-August 00
From: Duvall, Washington USA
Member No.: 28



QUOTE (Peter @ Mar 30 2006, 07:51 PM)
PMView scripts WILL NOT CREATE directories.


That was the info I was missing.

PMV v3.20 Convert DOES CREATE directores:

ftp://asavage.dyndns.org/hosting/PMView/PMV2000_26.png

(the directory to be created is "work")

Unfortunately, it creates them off the program directory, instead of the selected FOC directory:

ftp://asavage.dyndns.org/hosting/PMView/PMV2000_26.png

Apparently, the location of where a FOC Convert script will originate the script's path has been repaired, but its ability to create a directory has been removed.

Regards,
Al S.


--------------------
Regards, Duvall, WA
Al S. http://asavage.dyndns.org
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Apr 2 2006, 08:51 PM
Post #5


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



Hmm...

I'll look into this.

Thanks,
Peter


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asavage
post Apr 3 2006, 12:42 AM
Post #6


Forum Member


Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 6-August 00
From: Duvall, Washington USA
Member No.: 28



Another thing I found tonight:

FOC, select a thumbnail, RMB and select "Copy to", for Target directoy type '.', (for filename, I changed it), the copy operation put the file in the PMV program directory, just like Convert used to do.

Did you fix only scripts for relative paths? I expected the Copy to '.' to copy the file to the directory that the FOC is showing me.


--------------------
Regards, Duvall, WA
Al S. http://asavage.dyndns.org
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Peter
post Apr 3 2006, 09:37 PM
Post #7


Forum Member


Group: Admin
Posts: 661
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Wilmington, North Carolina
Member No.: 3



Yes, I only fixed it for the script function...

You're of course right that copy/move should behave the same way! Thanks for pointing out this issue.

Thanks,


--------------------
Peter Nielsen (peter@pmview.com) "If you can dream it, you can do it" JFK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd June 2018 - 11:52 PM